Performa Funders

Performa is powered by the support of individuals. From the very first Performa Commission, Logic of the Birds by Shirin Neshat in 2001, our supporters have made our groundbreaking and innovative art possible. Support Performa with a fully-deductible gift, or become a Performa Circle member and experience the best of the contemporary art world through the lens of performance, past and present, by engaging with artists, curators, scholars, collectors, gallerists and performance enthusiasts.


Our heartfelt thanks to the following institutions, agencies, individuals and galleries for their generous patronage of Performa and our programs.

Board of Directors

Todd Bishop, Richard Chang (President), RoseLee Goldberg, Ronald Guttman, Wendy Fisher, Barbara Hoffman (Secretary), Joyce Liu Kie Hung, Rashid Johnson (Vice Chair), Toby Devan Lewis (Chair), Shirin Neshat, Ivan Pun, Jeanne Greenberg Rohatyn, Roya Sachs, Dayana Tamendarova

Major Foundation Support

The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Ford Foundation - Institute of International Education, Lambent Foundation, Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, David and Elaine Potter Foundation, and The Arison Arts Foundation.

Additional Support

Institute Francais, FACE, Marta Heflin Foundation, NYU Steinhardt Department of Art and Art Professions

Director's Circle

Toby Devan Lewis, Wendy Fisher, Yoko Ono, Jeanne Greenberg Rohatyn and Nicolas Rohatyn, Ronald Guttman, Nancy & Fred Poses

Commissioning Council

Noreen K. Ahmad, Sarah Arison, Robert D. Bielecki Foundation, Mary Boone, Broad Art Foundation, Liza Essers – Goodman Gallery, Elise Jaffe and Jeffrey Brown, Carlos Ferrer, Wendy Fisher, Fundação Sindika Dokolo, Gladstone Gallery, Anne Huntington, Susi Kenna, Marian Goodman Gallery, Pace Gallery, Abigail Pucker, Judi Roaman and Carla Chammas, Kara Ross, Victoria Miro Gallery, Larry Warsh, WHATIFTHEWORLD

Producer's Circle

Dimitris Daskalopoulos, Mimi Brown and Alp Ercil, Marian Goodman, Agnes Gund, Dominique Levy, Julie Mehretu, Fiona and Eric Rudin, Ann Tenenbaum and Thomas Lee, Anita Zabludowicz

Curator's Circle

Alexander Gorlin, Michael Hoeh, Steven Holl, Andrea Krantz and Harvey Sawikin, Edward Tyler Nahem and Tanya Minnas, Yana and Stephen Peel, Rivka Saker, Shelley Marcus Sonenberg

Archivist's Circle

Shumita and Arani Bose, Elaine Goldman, Ray Learsy, Jessica Mitrani, Tracey and Phillip Riese, Arlene and Mark Shechet, Hope Stringer, Ellen and William Taubman

Visionaries Steering Committee

Laura Currie, Pari Ehsan, Andrea Franchini, Alexander Hankin, Erin Kim, Qinmin Liu, Mafalda Millies, Edoardo Monti, Alexandria Pang, Joshua Pulman, Roya Sachs (Chair), Joy Sela, Leily Soleimani, Christopher J. Wolf, Ruoqi Amy Zhou


Thomas Cole Baron, Leon Benrimon, Hillary Beson, Erica Bibby, Sarah Bielicky – Jim Kempner Fine Art, Mark Blackwell, Emma Bowen - Paul Kasmin Gallery, Christian Bradeen, Vittorio Calabrese - Magazzino Italian Art, Laura Burton, Lauren Calhoun – White Cube, Paul Cossu, Laura Currie, Andrew Craven, Daniel Emilio, Alice Finnerty, Jordan Flanzraich, Justine Fisher, Andrea Franchini, Kerry Gaertner Gerbracht, Zoe Guttman, Emily Grillo, Alexander Hankin, Julian Carl Waldemar Henry, Jennifer Houdrouge, Kathy Huang, Alison Hyde, Alexandra Israel, Pierce Jackson and Dianna Mesion, Sam Kapp, Anastasia Kidd, Zoe Jackson and Eric Render, William Leach, Kathleen Lynch, Melanie Masarin, Avery McCann, Capucine Milliot, Ingrid Moe, Alexandria Pang, Michael Phelan, Sophie Plimpton, Joshua Pulman, Aurelia Rauch, Jay and Arthur Richardson, Kimberly Roberts, Andy Romer, Roya Sachs, Mona Safabakhsh, Susan Seelig, Allyson Shapiro, Leily Soleimani, Catherine Spino, Lucie Steinberg, Ellen Tang, Courtney Taylor, Molly Taylor - Paul Kasmin Gallery, Victoria Rogers, Alia Williams, Christopher Wolf, Tiffany Zabludowicz, Roqui Amy Zhou

Performa 17 Commissioning Fund

Edgar Arcenaux, Maggie Barr, Anne Bergeron, Lauren Leilani Ching, Bob and Renee Drake – Robben Stichting, Darren G. Fields, Stephen Friedman Gallery, Patrick Gaspard, Sandra C. Gil, Michael Hoeh, Jason Jacques, Jonathan Jawno, Eileen O'Kane Kornreich, Miyoung Lee, Kevin Lu, Richard J. Massey Foundation, Jessica Mitrani, George Baron Muniz, Perrier, Shoujou Piston, Andrew Renton, Tracey and Phillip Riese, Andy Romer, Karen Robinovitz, Robert M. Rubin, Rivka Saker, Arlene Shechet and Mark Epstein, South African Foundation for Contemporary Art, Emile Stipp, Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects, Keith Yazmir, Marcella Zimmermann